[Indian Wells] Taro Daniel Eliminates Novak Djokovic In His Return Debut

◼️ Taro Daniel, with an unsuccessful record, defeated Djokovic 7-6 (3), 4-6 and 6-1, the Serbian returns to compete after an elbow operation.

The Japanese Taro Daniel, 109 of the world ranking, starred on Sunday as the surprise of the Indian Wells tournament, the first Masters 1000 of the season, by eliminating the Serbian Novak Djokovic, who returned to the competition after his operation on an elbow and proved to be far from his best moment.

The Balkan, who started his participation in his second tournament in the last nine months, was lacking pace, slow and without confidence. Resigned to the enthusiasm of his rival, against whom he had never before faced and who didn’t miss a unique opportunity to achieve a winning reputation.

Taro Daniel, with a not so good ATP record, defeated Djokovic 7-6 (3), 4-6 and 6-1 after two and a half hours of Calvary for the Balkan, who gave viewers the feeling of not being comfortable in the court.

Djokovic, champion on five occasions in Indian Wells, in 2008, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016, and finalist in 2007, reappeared at the Australian Open at the beginning of the year but lost in the second round. He decided to stop the Serbian and go through the operating room to heal his elbow injury. He returned to Indian Wells, where he had an ephemeral step and fell on his debut, in his second-round clash.

Taro Daniel, meanwhile, will face in the third round the winner of the match between the Belgian Ruben Bememlmans and the Argentine Leonardo Mayer.

Other 2nd Round Results

Roger Federer (SUI, 1) beat Federico Delbonis (ARG) 6-3, 7-6 (6).

Marin Cilic (CRO, 3) to Martion Fucsovics (HUN) for 7-5 and 6-3.

Joao Sousa (POR) to Alexander Zverev (GER, 4) for 7-5, 5-7 and 6-4.

Jack Sock (USA, 8) to Thomas Fabbiano (ITA) by 6-2 and 7-5.

Juan Martín Del Potro (ARG, 6) to Alex De Minaur (AUS) 6-2 and 6-1.

Milos Raonic (CAN, 32) to Felix Aliassime (CAN) for 6-4 and 6-4.

Leonardo Mayer (ARG) to Ruben Bemelmans (BEL, LL) by 6-4 and 6-1.

Filip Krajinovic (SRB, 25) to Mitchell Krueger (USA, Q) 6-2 and 6-2.

Yuki Bhambri (IND, Q) won Lucas Pouille (FRA, 9) by 6-4 and 6-4.

Taro Daniel (JPN, Q) to Novak Djokovic (SRB, 10) for 7-6 (3), 4-6 and 6-1.

Gael Monfils (FRA) to (15) John Isner (USA, 15) for 6-7 (5), 7-6 (3) and 7-5.

Dudi Sela (ISR, LL) to Kyle Edmund (GBR, 21) by 6-4 and 6-4.

Sam Querrey (USA, 18) to Mischa Zverev (GER) for 6-4 and 7-5.

Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) to Gilles Muller (LUX, 24) by 6-3 and 7-5.

Feliciano Lopez (ESP, 28) to Ernesto Escobedo (USA, WC) by 6-4 and 6-3.

David Ferrer (ESP, 29) to (WC) Tennys Sandgren (USA, WC) by 6-2, 7-6 (3).

Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER, 31) to Tim Smyczek (USA, Q) for 1-6, 6-4 and 6-4.

Marcos Baghdatis (CYP, Q) to Diego Schwartzman (ARG, 14) for 7-5 and 6-4.

Leave a Reply